Guest Author: Daniel Godfrey

In a building which has avoided time for around 600 years, it is only fitting to welcome Daniel 27833741Godfrey, author of New Pompeii published by Titan as our guest reader for our first meeting.

“In the near future, energy giant Novus Particles develops the technology to transport objects and people from the deep past to the present. Their biggest secret: New Pompeii. A replica of the city hidden deep in central Asia, filled with Romans pulled through time a split second before the volcano erupted.

Historian Nick Houghton doesn’t know why he’s been chosen to be the company’s historical advisor. He’s just excited to be there. Until he starts to wonder what happened to his predecessor. Until he realizes that NovusPart have more secrets than even the conspiracy theorists suspect.

Until he realizes that NovusPart have underestimated their captives…”
Author Daniel Godfrey has had several short stories published but New Pompeii is his first Science Fiction novel. Daniel gained an MSc from Leeds in transport planning, he is currently working on the sequel.

Praise for New Pompeii

“Fascinating, cleverly wrought, intelligent and occasionally brutal, New Pompeii is a thrillingly original take on the time travel genre.” – Tim Lebbon, New York Times bestseller

“An exuberant, high-concept thriller that brings ancient Rome crashing into the present day. Smart, inventive and action-packed.” – Tom Harper, bestselling author of The Lost Temple

“That rare science fiction novel that reads like a thriller – fast-paced and intricate. Godfrey has crafted an astonishing debut, and I can’t wait to see where his story goes next.” – Alan Smale, Sidewise Award winner

“An impressive debut. A smart, intriguing thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and Philip K. Dick.” – Gareth L. Powell, BSFA Award winner

“A first class debut. I couldn’t put it down!” – Adam Christopher, author of Empire State

“A cleverly woven tale of ancient Romans, time travel, and ageless power struggles, which builds to a stirring conclusion.” – Janet Edwards, author of Earth Flight

Advertisements