HumberSFF#3 Women in Science Fiction & Fantasy

Humber SFF is back with its free get-together for those interested in Science Fiction and Fantasy genres. Once again held at Hull Central Library’s James Reckitt Reading Room, this time we’re tying Hull’s strong female influence with the City of Culture’s second season Roots and Routes.

On April 15th we’ll be celebrating Women in Science Fiction and Fantasy withLindaAcasterTorcofMoonlight three female authors covering a range of sub genres.

Eventbrite - HumberSFF#3 Women in Science Fiction & Fantasy

Linda Acaster is part of the successful Hornsea Writers Group. Linda has written over 70 short stories, as well as reading for a literacy consultancy. Linda will be reading from Torc of Moonlight. The first in a paranormal romance which draws from Hull’s history and merges with mythical lore.

Rugby fan Jo Thomas writes both Science Fiction and Fantasy as knowing how to handle a sword. Jo will be reading from 25 Ways to Kill a Werewolf, the first book in the Elkie Bernstein trilogy published by the award winning Fox Spirit Books.

 

Suzanne Jackson hails from Selby and will be reading from her debut novel The Beguiler, a fantasy romance from Venus Ascending.

Humber SFF provides the opportunity to meet others who love the fantasy and speculative fiction genres, and to discover new books. The social gathering is backed by the British Fantasy Society and the British Science Fiction Association. Anyone who enjoys reading or wants to write Fantasy or Science Fiction HumberSFF offers opportunity to discover what’s happening in the industry and make contacts with others who work within it.

All three authors will be reading from their latest works, signing copies of their books as well as answering questions. The event will start at 1pm and also features the opportunity to win a range of Science Fiction and Fantasy books in a free raffle.

Reserve a seat and let us know you’ll be there too!

Humber SFF#2 Made In Hull

We’re really excited to be holding our next FREE event  at Hull Central Library from 1pm February 25th. Check out their Science Fiction and Fantasy offerings, along side their digital library they  have an impressively up to date collection with plenty of the classics too.

Three authors will be our guests, each of whom have award-worthy reputations.

Eventbrite - HumberSFF  Social #2 Made In Hull

Jim Hawkins’ screenplay was nominated for a BAFTA, but he will be reading from his23081300 fragmentsoftomorowlatest collection Fragments of Tomorrow. Jim’s prose work has regularly appeared in “The Best Of ” styled anthologies and his short stories can regularly be found in Interzone, one of the UK’s leading genre magazines. Jim inspired new writing for both screen and novel through the Hull University’s Creative Writing Degree. You can find more aboutJim Hawkins on his author page

 

Lee Harrison’s debut fantasy novel, The Bastard Wonderland, was recently featured on the-bastard-wonderlandthe Not the Booker Prize Longlist, a real coup for a Hull-based genre author. Lee is currently working with First Story promoting literacy within schools in the area. Discover more about him here: http://www.thebastardwonderland.com/

 

 

 

 

Sheffield based author Steven Poore’s novel, Heir to the North, was shortlisted for the 51kumq4p4llhighkingsvengenceBritish Fantasy Award, winning many over with his writing style. The High King’s Vengeance is the second in the Malessar’s Curse series. Several of Steven Poore’s short stories have been published by the award winning Fox Spirit Books and most recently with Woodbridge Press.  You can find out more about him on his website: https://stevenpoore.wordpress.com/

All three authors will be reading from their latest works as well as answering questions. The event will start at 1pm and as always the opportunity to win a range of Science Fiction and Fantasy books in the free Raffle.

All our guests are welcome to join us for drinks at the bar after. Let us know you’re planning to join us and book your FREE place now.
Eventbrite - HumberSFF  Social #2 Made In Hull

Save the date! Humbersff#3 will take place on April 15th – with an all female lineup!

HumberSFF-the first. A brief review.

It happened. The Monk’s Walk provided the ideal cosy environment on a wet Bank Holiday Weekend for our two guest authors.

After a chance to say hello to a room full of new faces, Daniel Godfrey got things rolling 2Daniel_Godfrey27_8_16with an excellent extract from New Pompeii, a story that starts where most end: the eruption of Mount Vesuvius. It might well have been his first public reading, but Daniel was more than happy to field questions from the audience after, and sparked a number of interesting discussions between runs to the bar.

David Tallerman gave us a peek at a new, fun book coming out from Digital Fiction Publishing at the end of the year. It’s a return to the humour found in The Tales of Easie Damasco. Those who like Dungeons and Dragons might well want to keep an eye out for it. 20160827_173842

A massive thank you to our guests and everyone who made the journey. It’d be rude not to thank the BFS and the BSFA for helping make HumberSFF happen. Don’t forget the Hull SF meeting in September, we hope you’re all enjoying your book booty and we’ll see you again soon.

Guest Author: Daniel Godfrey

In a building which has avoided time for around 600 years, it is only fitting to welcome Daniel 27833741Godfrey, author of New Pompeii published by Titan as our guest reader for our first meeting.

“In the near future, energy giant Novus Particles develops the technology to transport objects and people from the deep past to the present. Their biggest secret: New Pompeii. A replica of the city hidden deep in central Asia, filled with Romans pulled through time a split second before the volcano erupted.

Historian Nick Houghton doesn’t know why he’s been chosen to be the company’s historical advisor. He’s just excited to be there. Until he starts to wonder what happened to his predecessor. Until he realizes that NovusPart have more secrets than even the conspiracy theorists suspect.

Until he realizes that NovusPart have underestimated their captives…”
Author Daniel Godfrey has had several short stories published but New Pompeii is his first Science Fiction novel. Daniel gained an MSc from Leeds in transport planning, he is currently working on the sequel.

Praise for New Pompeii

“Fascinating, cleverly wrought, intelligent and occasionally brutal, New Pompeii is a thrillingly original take on the time travel genre.” – Tim Lebbon, New York Times bestseller

“An exuberant, high-concept thriller that brings ancient Rome crashing into the present day. Smart, inventive and action-packed.” – Tom Harper, bestselling author of The Lost Temple

“That rare science fiction novel that reads like a thriller – fast-paced and intricate. Godfrey has crafted an astonishing debut, and I can’t wait to see where his story goes next.” – Alan Smale, Sidewise Award winner

“An impressive debut. A smart, intriguing thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and Philip K. Dick.” – Gareth L. Powell, BSFA Award winner

“A first class debut. I couldn’t put it down!” – Adam Christopher, author of Empire State

“A cleverly woven tale of ancient Romans, time travel, and ageless power struggles, which builds to a stirring conclusion.” – Janet Edwards, author of Earth Flight

Guest Author: David Tallerman

Hailing from Hull, David Tallerman is the author of Angry Robot’s Giant Thief, Crown Thief, The Sign in the Moonlightand Prince Thief. His novella, Patchwerk was published earlier this year by Tor.com

Author of the steampunk graphic novel Endangered Weapon B: Mechanimal Science, David Tallerman’s horror, crime and science fiction short stories have appeared in magazines such as Lightspeed, Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, Clarkesworld and Beneath Ceaseless Skies. He also co-wrote the short film Match, which won the 2011 2 Days Later contest.

 

Web: http://davidtallerman.blogspot.co.uk/

Twitter:@davidtallerman

 

Getting Here

 

With Georgian and Victorian buildings framing the weekly Saturday market there are plenty of bookshops to browse, eateries and a range of coffee shops in Beverley.

Monk’s Walk is accessible on foot by both Highgate and Eastgate. Both of which lead to the Minster. More about accessibility can be found here.

Within walking distance there are a range of independent B&Bs and hotels which include Premier Inn and Best Western.The Youth Hostel a former Dominican friary is situated in the shadow of Beverley Minster is good for budget accommodation, and another of Beverley’s best kept secrets.

It’s advisable to check trip advisor before making any reservations should you need to stay the night.

By Train.

The Monks Walk Pub is only a few minutes walk from the train station. Direct trains from Scarborough, Sheffield and Hull run regularly. With a change at Hull, trains from Leeds, York,  Doncaster and even London are all possible.

By Bus.

Beverley’s bus station is a slightly longer walk (not more than 10 minutes) from the pub, with regular buses serving the local area, including, Cottingham, Bridlington, Hessle, Hornsea, Hull and York

By Car.

The cobbled street of Highgate is restricted for residents and not recommended to park on for visitors. The easiest to find long stay car park is School Lane which is approximately five minutes walk from Monks Walk. Enter postcode HU17 9BA on your SAT NAV.  Please be aware that some car parks meters will only accept cash payments.

From Hull
Follow the A1079 directly from Hull to Beverley town centre

From M62
Beverley is one hour from Leeds and is easily accessible from the M62. Leaving at Junction 38 of the M62 you will travel approximately 12 miles via the A164

From York
Located 45 minutes from York, follow the A1079 directly to Beverley town centre.

From Driffield, Bridlington and Scarborough
Situated 30 minutes from Driffield, follow the A164 to Beverley town centre. From Birdlington, follow the A165. An estimated journey of 1 hour, follow the B1249 and A164 from Scarborough to Beverley.