Guest Author: Daniel Godfrey

In a building which has avoided time for around 600 years, it is only fitting to welcome Daniel 27833741Godfrey, author of New Pompeii published by Titan as our guest reader for our first meeting.

“In the near future, energy giant Novus Particles develops the technology to transport objects and people from the deep past to the present. Their biggest secret: New Pompeii. A replica of the city hidden deep in central Asia, filled with Romans pulled through time a split second before the volcano erupted.

Historian Nick Houghton doesn’t know why he’s been chosen to be the company’s historical advisor. He’s just excited to be there. Until he starts to wonder what happened to his predecessor. Until he realizes that NovusPart have more secrets than even the conspiracy theorists suspect.

Until he realizes that NovusPart have underestimated their captives…”
Author Daniel Godfrey has had several short stories published but New Pompeii is his first Science Fiction novel. Daniel gained an MSc from Leeds in transport planning, he is currently working on the sequel.

Praise for New Pompeii

“Fascinating, cleverly wrought, intelligent and occasionally brutal, New Pompeii is a thrillingly original take on the time travel genre.” – Tim Lebbon, New York Times bestseller

“An exuberant, high-concept thriller that brings ancient Rome crashing into the present day. Smart, inventive and action-packed.” – Tom Harper, bestselling author of The Lost Temple

“That rare science fiction novel that reads like a thriller – fast-paced and intricate. Godfrey has crafted an astonishing debut, and I can’t wait to see where his story goes next.” – Alan Smale, Sidewise Award winner

“An impressive debut. A smart, intriguing thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and Philip K. Dick.” – Gareth L. Powell, BSFA Award winner

“A first class debut. I couldn’t put it down!” – Adam Christopher, author of Empire State

“A cleverly woven tale of ancient Romans, time travel, and ageless power struggles, which builds to a stirring conclusion.” – Janet Edwards, author of Earth Flight

Advertisements

Guest Author: David Tallerman

Hailing from Hull, David Tallerman is the author of Angry Robot’s Giant Thief, Crown Thief, The Sign in the Moonlightand Prince Thief. His novella, Patchwerk was published earlier this year by Tor.com

Author of the steampunk graphic novel Endangered Weapon B: Mechanimal Science, David Tallerman’s horror, crime and science fiction short stories have appeared in magazines such as Lightspeed, Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, Clarkesworld and Beneath Ceaseless Skies. He also co-wrote the short film Match, which won the 2011 2 Days Later contest.

 

Web: http://davidtallerman.blogspot.co.uk/

Twitter:@davidtallerman

 

Getting Here

 

With Georgian and Victorian buildings framing the weekly Saturday market there are plenty of bookshops to browse, eateries and a range of coffee shops in Beverley.

Monk’s Walk is accessible on foot by both Highgate and Eastgate. Both of which lead to the Minster. More about accessibility can be found here.

Within walking distance there are a range of independent B&Bs and hotels which include Premier Inn and Best Western.The Youth Hostel a former Dominican friary is situated in the shadow of Beverley Minster is good for budget accommodation, and another of Beverley’s best kept secrets.

It’s advisable to check trip advisor before making any reservations should you need to stay the night.

By Train.

The Monks Walk Pub is only a few minutes walk from the train station. Direct trains from Scarborough, Sheffield and Hull run regularly. With a change at Hull, trains from Leeds, York,  Doncaster and even London are all possible.

By Bus.

Beverley’s bus station is a slightly longer walk (not more than 10 minutes) from the pub, with regular buses serving the local area, including, Cottingham, Bridlington, Hessle, Hornsea, Hull and York

By Car.

The cobbled street of Highgate is restricted for residents and not recommended to park on for visitors. The easiest to find long stay car park is School Lane which is approximately five minutes walk from Monks Walk. Enter postcode HU17 9BA on your SAT NAV.  Please be aware that some car parks meters will only accept cash payments.

From Hull
Follow the A1079 directly from Hull to Beverley town centre

From M62
Beverley is one hour from Leeds and is easily accessible from the M62. Leaving at Junction 38 of the M62 you will travel approximately 12 miles via the A164

From York
Located 45 minutes from York, follow the A1079 directly to Beverley town centre.

From Driffield, Bridlington and Scarborough
Situated 30 minutes from Driffield, follow the A164 to Beverley town centre. From Birdlington, follow the A165. An estimated journey of 1 hour, follow the B1249 and A164 from Scarborough to Beverley.